The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul – Deborah Rodiguez

Official Blurb

In a little coffee shop in one of the most dangerous places on earth, five very different women come together.

These five women discover there’s more to one another than meets the eye, they form a unique bond that will for ever change their lives and the lives of many others.

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul is the heart-warming and life-affirming fiction debut from the author of the bestselling memoir The Kabul Beauty School..

My view.

This was my first ‘book club’ book that I read. I had previously really enjoyed the Khaled Hosseini books about Afghanistan so I was quite pleased when it was suggested, I had not read any of Deborah Rodriquez before and it is quite good to break from your comfort zone.

The book was startling in many ways as it drew from the different lives of the central characters. They are five ordinary people (women) living and working in the heart of Afghanistan. Sunny the propriator of the coffee shop is strong, independant and trying to make her business survive, the coffee shop is haven to her friends an unlikely mix of characters dealing with the uncertain changes within the country.

Although it dragged in parts, I did feel that it was an easy read it gives the right amount of of political background to make the story interesting.Some of the women’s stories fascinated me more than others, I particularly liked Yazmina’s story and would have like it to have gone into more detail.

  • I read the Kindle Edition of this book
  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (11 April 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 075155040X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751550405

Save

Save

