Breaking My Rules Already – Twitter Annoyances

 

twitter

Twitter has really made me cross today, so need to vent.

I did say that I wanted to keep this blog for my theatre musings and so I shall. But as my theatre tweeting and retweeting is spiralling out of control and is the main cause of this anquish I thought this post was justified.

I love twitter, I have said that before, and I do, but I do like to tweet everything, and retweet things, and comment, unfortunately filling up my followers timelines with a lot of things that they are not necessarily interested in.

I maintain 6 different twitter accounts – yes 6, on behalf of little local companies and friends, so I am quite used to swopping between accounts. That is not my problem. When I first joined twitter I should have set up several ‘personal’ accounts too. One to tweet about Theatre, one to tweet about health, one to play quizzes on, one for work , one for East Grinstead etc etc. All the things I am passionate about.

You can tell after having a heavy twitter evening (‘heavy’ meaning being engrossed and interacting with lots of people) my twitter followers go up and down like a yo-yo depending on what I am tweeting about.

For example, I see a show, I am enthused about a show, I tweet about a show – theatre followers go uuuup, other followers go down. I like twitter quizzes, but I find at the moment I am retracing my steps and deleting all my answers so as not to annoy people. My quiz compatriates often have a separate twitter quiz account – I understand why.

So today. Genius – I decide to create a theatre account, one where I can throw up blog links, stalk cast and creatives, find information etc without annoying all the lovely people who are helping me out with my health issues on twitter @sammi_blogs was born. But after 90mins of setting up the account, refollowing people I already follow,  restarting lists, I realise it was not easy at all.

So Twitter I suggest the above, enable us to tweet to specific lists, it works on FB, yes and I know that you want to remain different to FB – I understand completely, my friends are sacred on my personal FB timeline and my FB page (a little work / a little theatre) has zero followers because, well because I don’t advertise it and you can find it all on twitter anyway!

Hahaha – Rant over!

 

Leave a Reply

