Girl’s Christmas Night In

Very quick post, teehee should be doing lots of things today.

Last night I cooked dinner for a couple of friends of mine. We have been very close now for years and I love them to bits.

Usually we go out for our ‘Christmas Do’ but because hubby was meant to be away, I decided to cook for them instead. It turned out Terry came home from his conference early but that was OK, he was able to chauffeur them home. WIN!

I cooked an Indian, mainly because I find cooking Indian dishes fairly easy, and they are a firm favourite. Because one of my friend’s has a nut allergy I had to be fairly careful with the dishes I chose.

I cheated a little and bought the starters vegetable pakoras and samosa and all the dips raita, mango and lime and spicy mango.

I also cooked pre made Naans and Poppadoms.

The dishes I made were

Mushroom Rice
Dahl
Prawn Bhuna and
Oven Baked Chicken Masala.

The last dish was roughly based on a Rosemary Conley recipe and was particularly delish and easy to make, not to mention low in Calories. Try it and see.

Oven baked Chicken Tikka Masala

The nice thing about this recipe is that is I usually have all the ingredients in the house anyway. (except for ginger and because it is winter Mint)

Tikka Paste

1 small red onion
4tbs tomato puree
1tsp gr Cumin
½ tsp gr Cinnamon
1 inch ginger skinned
2 garlic cloves skinned
1 red chilli – deseeded (or more if you want it spicier)
Juice of 1 lime (I put a glug or two from a bottle)
2tsps veg or chicken stock powder (I did veg)

Whizz all the above in a whizzer to make a paste – you can do this anytime (hours before)

Other ingredients

4 chicken breasts (I used thighs because that’s what I had already)
1 pt tomato passata (I used a carton – didn’t look at how much there was in it)
½ pt low fat yoghurt (I used half a big pot – again didn’t check)
Salt and pepper
2tbs of chopped fresh coriander (URGH missed this out – although sometimes I put a sprinkle of ground in)

Mint leaves to garnish (ooops actually bought these and forgot to put them on).

Method

  1. Make the Tikka Paste by whizzing it all together
  2. oven on 200C (GM6)
  3. Cut breasts into bite sized chunks (I didn’t) and season chicken (with salt and pepper)
  4. smother chicken in Tikka Paste and marinate for 20 mins.
  5. Transfer to a roasting tin. (Why make washing up, marinate it in your roasting tin)
  6. Put in oven for 15 mins until lightly roasted (mine was in at a lower heat for about 30mins – I was cooking the kids tea at the time)
  7. Take out, stir in Passata put it back in the oven for another 10 mins (hmmmm it was about another 30, we were having starters etc)
  8. take out of oven mix in yoghurt and coriander (urgh) and garnish with mint leaves (if you remember)

Simples.

One of those crazy blogs where I wish I had photos of all the food but alas, we ate it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

